Penn Vet Cancer Center Members

The Penn Vet Cancer Center is comprised of 25 members from all four departments of the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine and include both research scientists and clinicians.  Our members come from a diverse educational and clinical backgrounds and represent a wide array of research interests.

To learn more about becoming a member, contact us.


Penn Vet Cancer Center

Need more information? Contact the Penn Vet Cancer Center.

The Cancer Center Team
  • Ellen Puré, PhD
  • Director, Penn Vet Cancer Center
215-573-9406
epure@vet.upenn.edu

Tumor microenvironment, Cellular and molecular basis of inflammation and fibrosis

  • Narayan Avadhani, PhD
215-898-8819
avadhani@vet.upenn.edu

Autoimmune diseases, Metabolic Regulation, Mitochondrial genetics, Mitochondrial function

  • Michael Atchison, PhD
215-898-6428
atchison@vet.upenn.edu

Transcription, Gene expression, Oncogenesis

  • Igor Brodsky, PhD

215-7468426
ibrodsky@vet.upenn.edu

Bacterial pathogens, Bacteriology, Infectious Disease, Inflammasome, Innate Immune Defense, Immunology

  • Rumela Chakrabarti, PhD
215-746-1873
rumela@vet.upenn.edu

 Breast cancer, cell fate regulators

  • Molly Church, VMD, PhD
churchm@vet.upenn.edu

Comparative Pathology, Anatomic Pathology

  • Lillian Duda, VMD, MBE
215-898-5448
dudal@vet.upenn.edu

Radiation Therapy, Bioethics

  • Amy Durham, VMD
215-898-7871
amycd@vet.upenn.edu

Lymphoid neoplasms, Lymphoma, Oncologic pathology, Pathology

  • T. S. Karin Eisinger, PhD
434-882-6160
karineis@mail.med.upenn.edu 

Immunobiology and Experimental Pathology

  • Julie Engiles, VMD
610-925-6451
engiles@vet.upenn.edu
 

Gastrointestinal pathology, Orthopedic pathology, Laminitis

  • Serge Y. Fuchs, MD, PhD
  •  Director, Mari Lowe Center for Comparative Oncology
215-573-6949
syfuchs@vet.upenn.edu

Autoimmune diseases, Cytokines and Grown factors, Interferon, Ubiquitin, Cancer

  • Oliver Garden, BVetMed, PhD
ogarden@upenn.edu

Autoimmune disease and cancer, Regulatory T cells, Myeloid-derived suppressor cells

  • David Holt, BVSc
215-898-4680
dholt@vet.upenn.edu

Imaging cancer during surgery, Portosystemic shunts, Brachycephalic airway disease, Laryngeal paralysis

  • Christopher Hunter, PhD
215-573-7772
chunter@vet.upenn.edu

Infectious Disease, Toxoplasma gondii, Zoonotic diseases, Host-pathogen interactions, Immunology, Parasites, Parasitology, Transgenic parasites, Inflammatory responses

  • Anna Kashina, PhD
215-746-0895
akashina@vet.upenn.edu

Angiogenesis, Protein arginylation, Cancer

  • Christopher Lengner, PhD
215-746-8425
lengner@vet.upenn.edu

Regenerative medicine, Cancer, Embryonic stem cells, Epigenetics, Oncogenesis, Oncogenic transformation, Somatic stem cells, Oncology

  • Frank Luca, PhD
215-573-5664
fluca@vet.upenn.edu

Regulation of Cell Growth and Proliferation, Signal Transduction, Cell Cycle Regulation, Polarized Morphogenesis, Cancer, Yeast Genetics and Cell Biology

  • Jennifer Mahoney, DVM
jamah@vet.upenn.edu

Medical oncology for companion animals, Canine lymphoma, Canine hemangiosarcoma, Chemotherapy

  • Wilfried Mai, DrMedVet, PhD
215-898-3304
wmai@vet.upenn.edu

Diagnostic imaging, Radiology, Ultrasonography, Vascular Imaging

  • Nicola Mason, BVetMed, PhD
215-898-3996
nmason@vet.upenn.edu

Cytotoxic T lymphocytes, Lymphoma, NF-Kappa B activation, Oncology, Bone Cancer, Canine Lymphoma, Canine cancer, Cancer immunotherapy, Cancer vaccines

  • Michael May, PhD
215-573-0940
maym@vet.upenn.edu

Inflammatory diseases, Inflammatory responses, Cancer, NF-Kappa B activation, Signal transduction, Chronic inflammatory diseases

  • Michael Mison, DVM
mmison@vet.upenn.edu

Clinical surgical oncology and soft tissue surgery, Virtual reality surgical training, Effects of CO2 LASER on incised tissues

  • Pascale Salah, DVM
pascaleg@vet.upenn.edu
Clinical oncology
  • Karin Sorenmo, DVM
karins@vet.upenn.edu

Canine cancer, Mammary and prostatic cancers, Cancer, Canine hemangiosarcoma, Oncology

  • Susan Volk, VMD, PhD
215-898-0635
swvolk@vet.upenn.edu

Wound repair and regeneration, Extracellular Matrix Scar formation and fibrosis, Regenerative medicine, Cell-based therapies, Tumor microenvironment