New Bolton Center Kennett Square, PA
Emergencies & Appointments:
Ryan Hospital Philadelphia, PA

Acknowledgements & History of Phi Zeta


We acknowledge Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health for their support of Student Research Day. Moreover, we wish to acknowledge the NIH/Boehringer Ingelheim Summer Research Program that is designed to expose students in their first or second year of veterinary school to all phases of biomedical research.

We are grateful to the sponsors, donors, and families of our patients, without whom our research would not be possible.

Richard O. Davies Fund: Established in 2007, by former students and colleagues of Dr. Richard O. Davies, this fund provides support for an award or fellowship to be given at the discretion of the Department of Biomedical Sciences.

The Class of 1966 Endowed Lectureship: A gift from the Class of 1966 established an endowed fund in 1991 to aid and support annual major lectures at the School of Veterinary Medicine.

Organizing Committee:

Chair:     Jennifer Punt, VMD, PhD
Faculty:     Elizabeth M. Lennon, DVM, PhD
    Michael J. May, PhD
    Phillip Scott, PhD
Students:     Daria Mrugala
    Nimisha Pattada
    Stephanie Sila

         Faculty Judges:

    Eman A. Anis, MS, PhD, PhD
    M. Andres Blanco, BA, PhD
    Brian Flesner, DVM, MSc
    Andrew J. Modzelewski, BSc, PhD
    Lisa A. Murphy, BS, VMD
    Kotaro Sasaki, MD, PhD

Heartfelt thanks to Associate Dean for Education Kathryn E. Michel and Gayle Joseph, Senior Research Resources Manager (retired), for their foundational efforts in establishing, growing, and professionalizing Student Research Day.

Our thanks to the Student Research Club, Carole Cloud, John Donges, Stephen Hawkins, and Reth Touch, who provided much-needed organizational, technological, photographical, and logistical assistance.

History of Phi Zeta

Phi Zeta was originated in 1925 by a group of senior veterinary students in the New York State Veterinary College at Cornell University. With the assistance of a group of faculty members, including the Dean of the College, Dr. Veranus A. Moore, the Society was formally organized, and Dean Moore was elected as the first president of the Alpha Chapter. The Society of Phi Zeta was organized in 1929 at a meeting in Detroit, Michigan, and Dean Moore became the first president of the Society.  Also, in 1929, a charter was granted to the School of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, and the Beta Chapter was established. In 1931, the Executive Committee approved the petition of a group from Iowa State College, and the Gamma Chapter was established. Since then twenty-four chapters have been chartered, bringing the total number of chapters to twenty-seven. Chapters of the Society may be formed at any recognized veterinary medical college or at any other institution of higher learning.

Name and Symbols of the SocietyThe organizers of the Society, when seeking a suitable name, sought the help of a learned Greek scholar, Professor George P. Bristol of Cornell University.  Professor Bristol suggested a Greek word, which in the Latin form is spelled PHILOZOI and means "love for animals." The abbreviation of Phi Zeta was adopted as the name of the society. 

University of Pennsylvania OfficersBeta Chapter

Dr. Margret Casal, President

Class of 2023

Nicholas Anderson, Alexandra Cabra, Leslie Concepcion, Margaret Duchene, Kay Foos, Brent Gerbec, Isabella Healy, Robert Holzman, Jaesun Lee, Rachel Siskind, Josie Thal, Anna Tran, Alessandro Valle

Class of 2022

Paige Albers, Kaitlyn Dreese, Caroline Dunn, Lindsay Evans, Courtney Flynn, Annette Folgueras, Taylor Hanson, Danielle Hummel, Elisabeth Lemmon, Nicollette Lindo, Lindsay Martin, Melinda Mordarski, Natalie Phalen, Rebecca Range, Nicole Reuter, Sarah Weinberg, Nikki Yager

Inducted as Juniors (V'22)

Kaitlyn Cassel, Lindsay Harris, Sarah Hessen-Schmidt, Devon House, Anna Jones, Erica Mathews, Lauren Palena, Ian Penkala, Ross Pillischer, Mirei Sakane, Hannah Warshawsky, Julia Weeder, Sherrie Xiaoyue Xie, Vickie Zhou